Bottom Line: How well do you know your People?

When people say, “bottom line,” many times they’re referring to the results. As a results oriented American business culture, managers put the pressure on employees to get the results, and sometimes they do not take time to understand what will motivate them for those results. I have one quick way to find out what motivates people and to get them to work for you as much as the results.

 

I must admit that I got this technique from my former boss Josie, my favorite manager in my career. When I transferred over to her facility, I got to meet 100 new employees. And 95% of them worked their hardest, but they worked their hardest for her. I noticed as the operations manager, she would walk around the facility, and, more often than not, her conversations with employees would be about them or their family, or some other endearing detail she had learned before. These employees were not afraid of her. In fact, they wanted to exceed all of their expectations because they felt as if she cared about them as people, at least as much if not more than, as employees.

 

Ask yourself an honest question: As the boss, do the majority (or all) of your conversations during normal business times reflect work related topics? Ask yourself another question: Do the people you got to know the best personally also seem to be your most reliable and hardest workers? I would be curious to hear what your honest answers are to these questions.

 

So, the bottom line is not the results, but it is, “How well do you know your People?” Please leave me a comment, follow me on Twitter, and subscribe to this blog by clicking on Follow.

occupation-1426385_1280

 

Author: Joe Croarkin

Husband, father of three, brother of four

4 thoughts on “Bottom Line: How well do you know your People?”

    1. Hi Camile,

      Thank you for taking the time to read this and send me some feedback. I really appreciate it.

      I think the real problem about communication is that it takes time to understand the individual we’re communicating with. We can use proper techniques to communicate, but the message is always filtered by the receiver, and we don’t know how it will land with them. That’s why I would always advocate giving feedback to the sender/receiver to let them know your understanding or asking questions to clarify.

      Like

    1. Hi Erika,

      Thanks for the support. I think that connection with a manager not only is needed for the employee, but it’s needed for a manager who wants to feel good about the support he provides to his/her employees. The feedback of happy employees is what can personally make me feel good about my job (or not).

      Like

Leave a Reply

